Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

A Garden Walk

While I was outside this morning, trying to photograph a blackbird, I noticed my nearly 92 year old grandmother coming outside, and strolling around her garden. Given her recent and ongoing difficulties with her health, I was really struck by seeing her walking about, pointing her walking stick as she seemed to think about what she wanted to do next in her - quite prolific - garden.

As I had my camera in my hands, I of course took a few shots, and quite like the look of this one. As old and frail as she is in body, she remains wonderfully strong and sharp in mind and character, and to see her getting back, even a little, into the garden she loves, is just brilliant.

I sharpened it a little, and added an overlay layer at about 50% opacity.

Large version here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.