Gregory with a Drawing

This is our friend Gregory. I encountered him on my graveyard shift at Deutsche Bank in NYC around 1999 when I was checking securities research put out by analysts in London; he was responsible for producing the research. And so we talked each night, and we soon discovered our common love for art. I observe art, he creates it, and he's a wonderful interpreter of things artistic--including architecture (e.g. here in Paris on our walk this afternoon.

He 's been visiting us in Paris for the past four days (which I've partly reported on). Today (his last here) we visited an an exquisite exhibition on German expressionists at the Pinacothéque de Paris. (I know I've used superlatives the last few days, but this was beyond the pale--it's here through March 11 for those who can make it).

Gregory carries a ringed sketch-pad with him wherever he goes, and draws wherever he can. He drew this image early one morning here, and then finished coloring it later. The fact that the blue in the drawing matches the blue below his throat is pure serendipity :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.