Out of the Jungle

Many thanks indeed for all the get well wishes yesterday.

I spent 4 hours at the medical centre getting the once over on my virus. It's a pretty weird process in which they seem to put everyone who comes through the door onto a bed with an intravenous drip attached while they go about other tests including blood and urine sampling.

They tried it with me and came along with a big bag of yellow fluid to hitch me up to. I'm not normally a difficult patient but I wasn't going to have any of it until I had a diagnosis, so remained in a chair while they drew off the blood and nearly caught my death of cold sitting in the highly aircon-ed room for the next three and a half hours for the results to come through, and watching a multitude of other bags slowly drain into the other patients.

Eventually I got called and told that I had a unknown virus that was very like dengue in it's effects but wasn't dengue itself. The doctor also said that it was clear I had had dengue in the past but couldn't say when! In any case, I seem to be 'out of the jungle' as my temperature is normal again, the rashes are diminishing and there's not an ache to be found in my body. Vitamin C and a little rest have been ordered. So feeling pretty chirpy about the outcome! Not enough to go out serious blipping though, so here's a bunch of bananas from our hallway!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.