redridergirl

By redridergirl

Just as I am about to shoot the last frame

Just as I am about to shoot the last frame
they appear.
Click click click claws across the parquet
notify me of their presence.
I stop, finger midway through gently tweaking the focus ring,
look up, there they are.
What am I doing, taking a photo of this fruit carton,
when such grace and beauty is right next to me?
Slowly spin, don't disturb their gazes, refocus, reframe,
loud smack of the shutter, they wheel and leave.
The moment is gone.
I wonder for a moment if I have captured them on film,
or is their beauty too elusive to be immemorialized?
I rewind the film, pop it out of the slot.
The canister feels immensely heavy, and I know, with all certainty:
I have succeeded.


VIVITAR 220 SL : f/2.8 : 1/25" : 5omm : ASA 400

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.