Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

A Little Shag on the Beach

Before breakfast this morning I went out with Mstr 4 for a walk. We went up the nearby Highfield Reserve, then down to Algie's bay, around the headland, and up the stairs from "our" beach. As we came around the headland I saw this Little Shag (the intermediate form of; neither piebald nor just black) drying its wings. I took a few snaps, edged closer, took a few more, edged closer again, took a few more ... Until it started getting a little spooked, at which point I turned back. I got quite close though; this is uncropped.

I did sharpen it, and add an overlay layer at around 1/2 opacity - which I then erased from the wings, and the black of the body, as they became a bit featureless with the overlay.

Large version here.

I also got some nice shots of herons and an oystercatcher in the morning, and then at the beach later on, some gulls and sparrows. When home to oceans of data allowance I'll upload many of them, but for now wave yo hands in the aiyr like you just don't cayre . You gotta be a seagull if you wanna be a playa. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.