Mother Comfort's Carpet

...or...Random Carpet Moments

...or, perhaps...The Eye of the Storm

It is calm here today. Mother Comfort's carpet should be complete tomorrow, we are not rushing around working on anything, the toilet (see yesterday's blip if you need to know about the toilet...) has been installed, and my Sweetie is not feeling well and has been sleeping most of the day. I received a firm scolding from Mother Comfort for not waking her when I stopped by to visit, but the poor thing was sleeping so soundly, her note pad said they had just tested her BP 10 minutes earlier and I knew she had not been sleeping long and my mum has me extremely well trained not to wake sleeping beauties ;-) (My sis and I were very good at turning the TV very low and sitting right in front of it on Saturday mornings...or at least we thought we were...hope mum doesn't have any bad memories of those naughty girls who just couldn't stay in bed any longer!)

It turns out that the lovely lady passing out medications at the Center today has worked there since before I did. That meant that she remembered the people in my story yesterday. She was so sweet and held so many memories of so many lives over the years. Hard to believe she's still at it in the same facility. Bless her!

And bless you all too! I can't tell you how much I appreciate how sweetly you endure my stories. I do feel a need to pass them on. Perhaps I won't feel I need to say them over and over again when I am old since I have shared them with the world...ya' think? Well, probably not.

Tomorrow, we begin the next phase of this journey. Mother Comfort will move to a lovely home where the other residents are actually older than she is! I believe I will be leading the worship band for church next week and we have begun getting reservation requests for the Cottage again now that the holidays are over. The time comes soon, when decisions about going home or staying at the Adult Care Home where Mother Comfort will reside must be made. The very honest truth is that I do not believe she can tolerate being alone any more and we don't know exactly how we could get round-the-clock care in her home due to the cost, but we will make the very best effort, and leave the rest in the hands of God who loves each of us so much. We can be content with the outcome and know that it will play out for the best regardless. Each day is an adventure of it's own. Today was the part of the journey where you put your feet up and breath a prayer of thanksgiving for all that has come and gone in the past month and a half.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.