Covered in Bees

By PaulFS

Migraine on a Monday

I knew it was coming. I'd switched on a lamp and as soon as it flashed on brightly, the arc was imprinted green on my retina and I immediately felt nauseas and dizzy.

(Do you know at that precise moment my obsession with blip was confirmed as my second thought (my first being 'bugger'), was 'Well I'm glad I got my blip done already!')

I wasn't tired and it was quite early (8 something I think), but I took myself off to bed and I was asleep literally within seconds. I remember nothing till this morning, but when I got up I nearly fell down again, and I knew I was kidding myself if thought I was going to get to work. I don't phone in sick unless I actually can't get to the office. I even managed to get in when both my legs weren't working (that's for another day...), but with a migraine I can be dangerous.

I once had one when I worked 2 trains and a bus ride away. It happened when I was at work and I lost the ability to speak properly. My F's and G's got mixed up and I had a blind spot right in the middle of my eye. There was no pain or nausea, just tiredness and an inability to compute properly. I needed to cross the road to get home and although I knew the traggic lights at Freen meant the cars were going, and at Red they were stopped, I couldn't work out what this meant to me and how to cross the road safely. I was perfectly rational but the connections weren't connecting. Or if they were, they were connecting to the wrong connections! Flip the light switch in the living room and the shower turns on...

So this morning I went back to sleep for a couple of hours and then phoned in sick (for which I am, and will spend the rest of the day, feeling illogically guilty for).

After I phoned in I saw out of the window that the sun was just rising so I blipped it. It kind of reminds me of the migraine. Fuzzy, multi coloured, big bright light. Surprisingly the sunlight didn't hurt - it wasn't really bright - the picture makes it look brighter than it was.

So now I have a residual headache, am starving hungry but don't expect I'll be able to eat, have no energy at all and am amazed that I've been able to do such a long write up. My original plan was to upload with just the title, which I hoped was self explanatory, but once I start to ramble...

I might not comment today but I'll catch up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.