Northern Exposure

By Northern

Up... and... down...

My 8th ferry trip in the last 2 weeks. This time on the shortest crossing to the Scottish mainland.

The boys are off to visit their grandparents for a couple of weeks. We took the passenger ferry from the most southerly point of Orkney to John o' Groats. Where we met my Mum and dad, who had very kindly come to collect them.

We all had lunch together, waved them off and I then pootled about in the bizarre selection of shops at john o' Groats. Some stunning pottery mixed in with tartan tat souvenir shops which stangely had an excellent selection of Scottish books both fact and fiction.

The trip back was a wee bit more choppy than the trip out. It did get worse than this but by that point I was trying to sleep so that I didn't have to think about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.