send me back to the wild!

By davidpritchard

Back to Eastwood

I don't think that this is quite as striking an image as yesterday's, but I do like to make the most of these subtle winter colours, so I headed back to the canal basin this evening to see how it looked at the end of the day. It features the same boats, and in the position as they were in yesterday, but looking upstream rather than down. I'm a real sucker for boats, so this has been quite a find for me. I forget how many shots were involved in this one, but it is another stitch. The good thing about doing it this way is that you can get a softer background due to the reduced depth of field that comes with a longer focal length, and you increase the final resolution considerably. I used three filters for this one, as the lighting was considerably higher in contrast than yesterday (when I didn't need any), so by using more frames, I was able to compensate for the loss in sharpness.

Nikon D300; Tamron 18-270mm PZD @ 65mm; ISO 200; F/8; 0.4s. VC off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.