The high road

By Travellersjoy

Mrs O'Sullivan's Cottage

Went for a lovely long walk this afternoon, which took in one of the three abandoned cottages that freespiral and I had visited yesterday. My neighbours mother, lived and died here, when I first explored the place, nineteen years ago, just two slates were missing, now many have fallen off and the deterioration has really accelerated. Inside the staircase is intact and a bit of carpet remains. The cottage is unusual as you step out the front door onto hundreds of acres of wild, windswept commonage, with a stunning view of Bantry Bay, it really appeals to the romantic in me!
From the cottage I walked the commonage and climbed the mountain, which is just visible, then into my farm at the highest point. The weather ( don't read this bit B. ) was so mild and sunny, I was in a tea shirt ( and the flowery skirt! ). Off to catch a bit of music, then if there's any energy left the monthly French Dancing is on.
Hope everyone had a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.