2014 #project365

By CherryBerry

Windmill

Windmill in Alford, Lincolnshire.

A sad day today. Went to visit my nan who was taken into hospital on Friday. She has aged so much, so quickly. She didn't recognise me or her daughter at first and I assumed that she was heavily medicated until the nurse said that she was not being administered any medication at all. This was a shocking blow. I thought dementia was a creeping disease but it has pounced on my nan almost out of nowhere.

They live over 3 hours drive away but I feel crushingly guilty for not making the effort to see her more and fear that I may never see my real nan ever again. Such a strong, outspoken women who is now a shell of her former self.

I took this picture of the windmill that is a few miles from her house as it makes me think of all the car journeys to her house when I was small.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.