2014 #project365

By CherryBerry

At peace.

Went for a walk around my village today and something made me wander into the cemetery. Thankfully, I have lost very few people so I have not really had cause to visit cemeteries very often. I was surprised at how colourful it was.

My camera doesn't do it justice but the decorations gave the place an almost cheerful atmosphere. I wandered round for a while, reading the inscriptions and feeling encouraged that most of the dearly departed lived to a ripe old age.

After about 10 minutes I did start to feel a bit oppressed by the place, especially when I came to a cluster of tiny graves. One grave stood out among the others; a four year old girl who died in 2009 following a routine operation to have her tonsils out. Of course, I couldn't take a photo but her gravestone was covered in brightly coloured angels and pink stones lined her grave along with lots of ornaments. There was a beautiful photo of her. I can't imagine the pain her family must be experiencing.

My great grandparents are buried here; their grave is in the middle distance of this blip. Their grave was immaculate which made me smile as I knew my nan would've been up there recently tidying it up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.