Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Special tools pfft!

As you can see, I did attempt a few minor repairs, but things didn't work out too well, in fact I may have inflicted more damage despite my approach of extreme finesse. Well, it's a blip.

I am truly touched by the offers of help and assistance. The hairs are dancing up and down my spine, this truly is a wonderful and caring community, prepared to look after its own. I have accepted DaveRI's gracious offer of a D70 to get me moving again. Already, it is in the post and I have a tracking number in my hand. Dave, you are a bright star in my clouded sky.

This is more than a 'get me moving' contribution, it represents a step up after struggling to extract images from the olympus E10, quality, more pixels and lens options, so you can imagine how excited I am for the arrival of my package, it feels like Chrismas and I am ten years old.

I read up on the shutter problem of the Olympus. Apparently it is to be expected after 20,000 shots, but even though I have had the camera for close to ten years, I have not shot 5000 yet. Blip has revitalised my photography, after so much dormancy.

I also read on the focus problem that I had, this too is apparently a known problem, resulting from a faulty manufacturing adjustment. The auto focus works but the manual focusses short, which was my exact finding also. I never noticed the problem before, as all my shots (snaps) were made with auto focus.

The blip was taken on my video camera, 'Everio'. I would not like to use this more than a few times, as the 640 x 480 pixel count is rather limiting, sending me back fifteen years to my first digi, with the swivelling lens, a Minolta I think, could be wrong. I even found a remote control in the video bag, which has never been used before, but made today's fun shot possible. Hope you enjoy it, but I wouldn't bother going big!

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.