Campussies

We're all a bunch of namby-pamby, thin-bloodied wusses. It's beyond me how we made it through the the days before air-conditioned and centrally heated buildings.

No gas, no heating and no hot water in our shiny new energy efficient campus today. H&S regulations dictated we send all the students away home on directed study and the staff had the choice of heading off to another campus or head home to watch Jeremy Kyle work desktop-remotely. Small children were nearly crushed in the evacuation.

As I'd taken the left-overs from last night's Burns supper in for my lunch I hung around long enough to blast that in the microwave and use the unbridled network to download a box set's worth of Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman prep for tomorrow's classes (It's amazing the download speeds that are achievable when there's not a hundred PCs connected to YouTube).

Bubble was well and truly burst though when the janny came in and told me I had to leave as the building was being locked down. I packed up and walked through the empty corridors and out through the deserted car park to my car, then drove home to drink coffee and munch biscuits.

Right, where's my onesie, my cardigan, my slippers and my Bagpuss hot water bottle for tomorrow.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.