Up Helly Aa 2012

It never fails to thrill me when I come into a small island community, be it by air or sea.
Last night it was by air and dark when we landed at Sumburgh in our small 36 seater plane. It was a bumpier landing than we've had on our travels recently, but I'm told it was less scary not to see the view than to see it.

I've never arrived by air before. The arrival by sea in the early morning makes the hairs stand up on the back of my neck, when I first glimpse the stone grey houses of Lerwick which appear to emerge from a grey sea and sky in a cold calvanistic huddle.

But our first glimpse of the town was this morning as we walked to watch the Up Helly Aa procession of the Jarl Squads dragging the Galley through the streets. And it was cold, so cold with a biting NE wind straight of the blue grey waters of the North Sea. His Lordship invested in a furry hat with ear flaps and wore 5 layers of clothes under his jacket.

The town was thronged with folk, townspeople and tourists alike, and it was very difficult to get any clear view for a blip, being vertically challenged as it were.
I will post some photos on Flickr later when I might be lucky to blip the galley being set alight, and put a link on Blipfoto. However with the crowds expected, I may not be lucky.

For Blipfoto, I am posting a blip of the *chief jarl, called the Guizer Jarl, aloft on the galley holding his axe. I may change the picture later as we have a big party to go to this evening.

There are numerous parties taking place in different halls tonight and the various jarl squads visit each in turn.
We have bought tickets for one nearby and apparently the parties finish at 8 am tomorrow morning.
I certainly don't think that we will be the last to leave

*
EDIT: I've changed the blip from the Guizer Jarl to the galley being pulled through the street by Jarls with flaming torches, prior to it being burnt.
It was pure theatre and we wouldn't have missed it for the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.