First in the Queue

These two ladies, decked out in their finery, are ahead in the queue for Easter.

Yes, Christmas has no sooner packed up its tinsel and colourfully lighted trees, than the hens and their eggs have flown to the front.
In no time we will have summer clothes on the rails and then the Christmas paraphernalia for next Christmas.

No wonder we think that the years are flying past when the shops hurry us on from one season to the next with no space to breathe in between.

So far today I have consumed two hot chocolates bought for me by the two men who have featured in my life.

The first hot chocolate in Peter's Yard procured by the first man in my life took 30 minutes to arrive. This is indeed a record in slowness for a cafe where slowness is a feature, it would seem, of the organisation.

The second hot chocolate bought by his Lordship in the land of flowers came with marshmallows, cream and an accompanying biscuit, and a smug smile to go with his solitary cup of tea.

This is the sort of thing that people do when they are on a diet and wish to fatten up their companions who are also watching what they eat.
I have to say that I succumbed to the marshmallows and cream, but brought home the iced biscuit with the cherry on top in a napkin, to be held prisoner for a later date.

Now I'm off to visit my friend of many talents and the fantastic new hairstyle, secure in the knowledge that I will look as though I had been pulled through a hedge backwards when I remove my cycling helmet.

My fingers are crossed that Cairo boy makes it home today from Brussels to Larissa and the tanks in Maadi.

EDIT. Just had a text from the boy to say he back home in Cairo with Larissa, the tanks and the sound of gunfire, and awaiting events.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.