Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Lincolnshire sausages

Today has been a varied. I was up early reassembling two carriage clocks before a dental appointment which went surprisingly well given my traumatic experiences last November from which I am still not entirely pain free. My Italian dentist was most pleasant and speedily rebuilt a broken tooth and filled another. My previous NHS dentist was Spanish and there are several Polish dentists as well. Today I spotted a new one at the practice who looked Chinese. It seems that the NHS has a strong foreign recruitment programme going in this county. Then it was in to the shop to do some more repair work before collecting the car and the sausages for tea.

For us sausages are a serious thing. Lincolnshire sausages are made with coarsely chopped or ground pork mixed with binders, seasonings and preservative. Traditionally the dominant seasoning flavour has always been that of the herb sage but some recipes include other herbs, such as parsley or thyme, and flavourings such as onion. They are less peppery than Cumberland sausages. There is a Lincolnshire Sausage society that has been campaigning since 2004 to have these sausages given a Protected Geographical Indicator (AOC). There is also a Lincolnshire Sausage Appreciation Facebook site apparently. I do like a nice sausage!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.