Workshop

Weird day today. We've had one of the biggest storms in years batter the country and it moved to the South Island today. Floods everywhere, houses destroyed, people washed away down rivers. Dead.

And there was I, working away inside, in the warm, on my computer, others at work couldn't make it in. Roads closed. I was in a cocoon, my own little world. It still seems hard to believe this was happening around us. My only worry today was that the Internet appeared slow. Sad and ironic. I told clients who complained that the storm was obviously affecting the network. What about all those people? Are we, am I, now so sheltered from the "real" world that our reality or view of the world is now entirely introspective.

Well, on that note, our local ski areas have had 1 metre of snow from this storm. That is unheard of. We're going skiing this weekend. Might be a tough drive as we're going to Tekapo which is very snow affected and was closed today. Man, I hope they work really hard to get that road open so that I can have a holiday this weekend, and that they make sure the electricity is on. Can't be cold you know

<irony ends>

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.