earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Glacial Grace

Today has been a perfect winter's day - except for the total lack of any snow. It's been cold and crisp and clear, but the only white stuff I got to see was the ice on the canal. I spent some time outside the office this morning watching one of my blip cygets (see here) try to get out from one of the few remaining small pockets of open water and up onto the ice. It was totally comical. In the water they are surely amongst the most graceful creatures on earth, but out of it they must rank amongst the clumsiest!

Watching the 'baby' here sliding about on the surface was wonderful (in a slightly cruel kind of way), but hard to capture in a still photograph. I should have shot a video! I chose this one in the end to reflect the icy stillness of the canal. The poor things looked distinctly miserable. No sign of a thaw over the weekend, and the forecast suggests a bit of snow even.

I wasn't really living in the "now" very well today. My mind was outside in the sunshine, and looking forward to the weekend. I felt a bit like a caged tiger. I really didn't want to be in the office - but sometimes (a bit short-handed today) there really is no choice. I'm desperate to get out on the bike but I'm not sure how practical that is going to be in view of the forecast. I can't really complain as I've been waiting for some proper snow now for months! I shall try to look at it as a win-win situation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.