Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Security

It's the start of a new month and I have been a bit lazy paying my security staff, but before turning over my monetary contribution, you guessed it, I got a little extra this month.

Introducing Mr.Rohana, the second of my security staff, the other security guard featured in my third blip, back in August 2011. Rohana is a very quiet type, not given to a lot of expression, be it verbal or photographic, but still a generous and pleasant guy.

I went looking for him an hour or so ago and found him down the side road, helping a neighbor move some large palm leaves that had been cut down. What made the helpful action more special was that it was raining. So we all mucked in and moved the leaves and then I got Rohana back into his security hut, to pay the bill and steal a blip.

A ruggedly handsome guy, but you really don't want a pretty boy protecting your home from the bad guys out there. He wears his uniform well and looks the part, despite his 62 years. When I first moved into this property, over two years ago, I accidentally left my keys in the house, locking myself out. I only discovered this mishap after returning from the bar at 02:00 am. Rohana found me sitting on the wall, contemplating my next move. He was up and in through the bedroom window in a flash, saving my from my stony mattress.

Yes, Mr.Rohana is yet another nice person that I share my daily life with. True, I am hardly likely to blip the nasty ones, but apart from the guy who ripped up the grove, there really aren't any. Actually, I tried to blip the grove guy a couple of days ago, but he wasn't having any, just as well I suppose.

I am very happy that you all seem to be enjoying this series of local personalities. It is a new venture for me, in that other than snapping friends at parties, I have never done this type of photography before. It is definitely a learning process, but even after only half a dozen, I can feel myself getting better at it. Lesson one, always carry a notebook. My knees and elbows are fairing much better too.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.