Tian An Men Square

I booked the wrong room in Beijing and we ended up in a room with 2 single beds. We tried to sleep in a single and we just kept each other awake most of the night. (Terri's fault of course). I woke up early and decided to let her sleep for a while longer and went out for a walk. It wasn't long before I gravitated to Tian An Men Square.

No matter how many times I visit Beijing, I will always get a thrill when I walk on Tian An Men Square. The images I watched as a kid with that guy standing in front of the tank are burned deep into me. Even though I didn't understand them at the time, I knew it was something very significant.

Walking down the main street towards it, you can see the main entrance to the Forbidden City. I pondered how long the Chinese will leave that image of Chairman Mao on the front wall. Too deep for me to fathom.

These are some soldiers who were marching to change with fellows who had started earlier in the morning. They looked very impressive. Being almost Chinese now myself, I felt very proud of them going to work in that way.

We are home now. And glad to be here. Vacation is wonderful but.. as they say... there's no place like OUR home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.