The Wren

By TheWren

Winter droplets

The weather forecast today was grim for much of the country with snow or at the very best, sleet, forecast for the afternoon and evening. An early walk was required. I was joined by my friend who looked after Cara for me last week and we set out, deciding on the river walk as the paths were quite treacherous with rain falling on frozen ground. We had one dog each and our other hands were clutching our ski/walking poles for safety.

The river was a bit higher than last week so I wonder if rain overnight had just been enough to swell the reservoir until it overflowed again. We walked the length of the river walk with both dogs dashing in and out of the water and giving a fright - I'm afraid - to several pairs of mallards who had been nestling quietly in the shallows away from the strong current of the swollen river. At the halfway place the path goes between two sections of a former railway bridge and then curls round to disclose, at this time of year, a mass of snowdrops in various clumps set against a tumble of old and, by now, very mossy boulders. I took several photos but to be honest I'm not sure of the focus as my fingers were freezing in the cold and wet.

It is my daughter's birthday today and I always think of snowdrops at this time as that year the first of the snowdrops were out in our garden on the day she was born. We lived 1,000' up in the hills so everything was a little late - including my daughter as it happens!

Even if the focus isn't totally sharp I hope you like the raindrops on the bowed heads of the buds.

The sleety snow has now arrived and the dogs and I are nice and dry and warm. I can think of 100 and one different jobs which need doing so I hope I manage at least a couple this afternoon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.