The Wren

By TheWren

Glen Turret

What a difference a day makes. Warm feet in the bathroom, blue sky outside and a temperature of minus 5' with no rain or wind. In fact, a perfect winter's day.

After breakfast I started to defrost the car, taking time while I waited to top up the bird feeders. I don't know if anyone else has this problem but the tall bird feeders seem to accumulate seed at the bottom which then starts to sprout and clog up the openings where birds would normally sit and feed.

Anyway I have been hoping for some blue sky to highlight the snowy hill tops so I made a bee line for the top of the hill on my regular walk. A number of other folk were also out enjoying the cold winter's day which was affording us such splendid views. The sun was so warm that, wherever it touched the ground, the undergrowth became soft and green fairly quickly, in direct contrast to the white frosted areas deep in the shadows.

Given the excellent conditions I was spoilt for choice again but decided on this shot as it looks towards the sunlit Glen Turret and it shows the snowy hills which surround the now frozen Loch Turret reservoir of yesterday's blip. You can quite clearly see the single track road which takes you up to the reservoir from the Glenturret Distillery. Also you will be able to see small areas of white in the shadow of tree clumps where the ground is still frosted.

I hope tomorrow is as fine a winter's day as today has been so that those working may be able to appreciate it too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.