The Wren

By TheWren

A Seriously Soggy Seat

Today I met up with a friend with whom I lost touch about thirty years ago when our paths had taken us in totally different directions and she had found me purely during a chance meeting with the daughter of someone who knew of me! We met at Loch Leven and enjoyed a wonderful walk with the dogs and followed it up with a tasty soup lunch - but the best part of all was re-connecting with a friend. A couple of hours was no way long enough to catch up - though we did our best - so we have already arranged our next meeting. I'm just so delighted that she took the trouble to put pen to paper to find me again as it would have been easy simply not to bother! We are both older and wiser now, with grown up families and grandchildren and lots to share.

Very few photos were taken as we were so busy with our catching up but I did spot this wonderful waterlogged seat and it begged to be blipped along with its reflection. I also liked the way the three trees on the side of the loch mirrored the three back rests. The seat, although temporarily lost and lonesome with its feet in soggy ground, is still sturdy and one day will again be a place of companionship and friendship for those who come and sit awhile to enjoy the views or simply be ... it is a positive thought on which to reflect!

I saw this duck out on the loch - taken with the zoom and cropped - and I have no idea what the one on the left hand side is unless it is the result of a mallard philandering with a goosander! Any suggestions please? Stop Press: gladders has solved the mystery - a mallard scratching itself!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.