What did I see today...?

By DaveR

ArtistStree(t)

Who hasn't been Blipping for a while... yep, he's pointing at me!

On Newmarket Road in Cambers there was a row of disused buildings covered in a project by the Blight Society, a collective of graffiti, urban and street artists who sell their art, undertake comissions and run classes to share their skills up and down the UK.

The project on Newmarket Road was set up with the permission of the site owners sometime before I moved to Cambridge and has, since I've lived in the east side of town, been a great viewing gallery on the way into work whenever I'm stuck on board the bus.

Regrettably the site owners do have plans and so the demolition process has kicked off and half the wall had gone before I could finally remind myself to take some photos. I've managed to capture quite a few of them but this is my favourite of the bunch (well, that's a lie, they're all awesome, but this one addresses my Blipping guilt!)

In any case, I do recommend checking out the Blight Society blog for more artwork, and they also have a Facebook page with further pictures and stories as well.

I'm going to miss this wall.

Edited to add an artist credit because I cropped it out and had no other shots of it - this piece of work was done by "Fidget".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.