In the moment..

By MoshersMoll

Ice walking at Kralingse Plas

I was a little braver today, I actually ventured out onto the ice! This is Kralingse Plas (a large lake on the outskirts of Rotterdam) totally frozen over. Photo taken from the observation tower soon after my arrival. A bitter, icy wind, today was the first time I've felt uncomfortably cold during this recent subzero spell, but aside from feeling like I would lose a finger today, I still love it!

I cautiously stepped on the edge several times during my 3 hour walk around the lake and surrounding woodland, before deciding to fully walk out onto the ice! Seeing a bunch of teenagers practicing their ice hockey moves, plus an impromptu skate rental trailer assured me that it was in fact completely frozen! A strange, unnerving yet wonderful feeling. A big grin on my face, with the desire to yell: "look at me!" A moment that I wish I could have shared with someone.

I was in two minds whether to blip this lovely creature today but was convinced by my fella that the lake was a more impressive & fitting choice for the day. I shall let you be the judge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.