Travels Through A Lens

By SnapshotSam

Casa Batllo

This is the roof and tower of the the Casa Batllo built between 1904 and 1906 by Antonio Gaudi and commissioned by Joseph Batllo. It is said the roof represents the back and scales of a dragon. The whole building is full of curves with no straight lines. I bet the builders weren't too pleased with having no straight lines to work to, but it gives the whole building an earthy feel, although it is more of the underwater world inside that I think Gaudi was looking to convey.

I love Gaudi's work for being so different and natural in form. I could live in this building. It is still privately owned and currently undergoing restoration to preserve it for future generations.

Well, I couldn't come to Barcelona and not blip one Gaudi building :)

Will be catching up in journals on my return.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.