Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Overgrown

This may be considered a fail...!

I did a tour of my top local overgrown sites only to find that, what might have been saved from the snow, the 'boys' have obviously had orders to tidy up and have strimmed the lot! The light was appalling, the dogs, in need of a really good run, were testing my patience and I was ready to give up.

I decided to head for the lakes. The fishing on them is closed, and not for the inch and more of ice covering them, so the dogs can run around and hunt under control along the river bank.

Maera interested in the pit eagles gulls that descend on the lake from the nearby landfill site, stopped on the bank, dwarfed by the size of the huge wilted leaves of Gunnera manicata which are cut and left to protect the mother plant. Snap. So the overgrown leaves of a species, originally from Brazil, have become my blip.

Mother will be under the surgeons knife tomorrow. She has a fractured her femur and it doesn't look good. Now 83, she has always, if not a fitness fanatic, been active and a long stay in hospital is not auspicious.
All I can do from here at the moment is to keep my fingers crossed and hope that all goes well. MamaFi is being an angel, running up and down to the hospital and keeping the updates coming.. Thank you Fiona!

Tomorrow is Portrait... another of the dog?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.