Canal St. Martin--Paris

To celebrate my two-year blip-versary today, I took a midday outing to the Canal St. Martin, to see it in freezing conditions (it was around -3C°). For the details, view it large.

In fact I had never visited the canal on foot before, and it was fun, despite the cold. It is 4.5 km long (ca. 3 miles), leading from the north into the Seine. I walked along the few hundred meters of the most picturesque part, crossing several of the graceful iron foot bridges. There are nine locks, of which this one may well be the deepest.

These two years (beginning in Paris) have been wonderful. My photographic eye has definitely broadened. Warm thanks to everyone who has stopped by; I especially appreciate your comments. I regularly marvel at the superb useability of the site--the Edinburgh folks are terrific managers, not least amazingly responsive to queries. And the quality of the images is often almost beyond praise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.