BikerBear's Blips

By BikerBear

Snow in the mouth - not down in the mouth!!!

This is Shadow Dancer obliging me with some snowballingblipping opportunities. (Straight out of the camera except for a crop/minor sharpen).

Try viewing view on large.

This morning, the weather being sunny with bright blue skies and fresh snow in the garden, I wanted to try out the S setting on my D90 (only had the camera 2+ years!!!!) - and being a "knobs-and-buttons-technophobe" I have only just got used to using the A setting (and that doesn't always work out either) so the S setting was pretty much new territory ....

I learned......

- 1/160th of a second does not work with a close-up, leaping-about dog but 1/2000th of a second does!

- throwing snowballs with one hand and taking non-wobbly photos with the other is not easy!

- do not use a tripod if you do not want said tripod/camera knocked into the snow by nutty over-excited hound!

- one of the gloves belonging to Himself is great for keeping my snowballing hand warm (but I must dry it off before he gets home from work!)

- do not get a toy out for Shadow to play with as he loses all interest in snowballs

Hope everyone enjoys what snow they have as much as we did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.