MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Sushi Cones

So I feel my blog on these Brazilian adventures is a little unorthodox relative to my Pitt counterparts. But I guess we're all different people, so I'll try to refrain from some grand statement of profundity.

We finally got to try the seaweed cones filled with sushi at the popular (insofar as I can tell) restaurant Koni. They were actually pretty good. As usual with sushi, I tried not to think about it too much.

Today may be the day I achieved a semblance of balance. I was able to paint a bit of Corcovado (with water colors) from the porch and caught up on Engineers Without Borders work as well as laid out my plans for my actual work. Additionally, Alex and I were able to assemble all of the necessary documents to register with the federal police (good thing it's only the local police who are striking) The documents include: photocopies of every stamped page in your passport (which may or may not need to be certified.. I guess it depends on which clerk you get at the federal police station), 2- 3x4cm photos of yourself (looking very angry, I might add), 1 federal police form completed online and printed on A4 paper (which refuses to google translate into any other language and which is also not Chrome-friendly), and 2 payment forms which you need to fill out online, print on A4 paper, and take to a bank to pay and get receipts for (these are about R$200 for estrangeiros.)

I think the bill-payment-in-the-bank experience has been the most interesting so far- you bring in your cash and the page that says what you're paying. You take a number from a little machine, walk through a plexi-glass wall which houses guards (who are armed, btw.), climb some stairs (at least in this bank), and wait until your number pops up. Then you give the teller your receipt and your money, she types up some stuff, gives you change and a receipt, and sends you on your way. I guess Brazilians do this for rent and utility bills as well. It's fascinating!

Ahh, but I digress. Every day is an interesting one here in Brazil!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.