Insomnia

I had a tryst with the moon at 3am this morning, while standing outside in my pj's, unseen I hope by anyone.
This was not a meeting I had engineered by any means; no it was the result of insomnia, an affliction which happens from time to time, unsought and unwelcome.

To alleviate any further tossing and turning, I thought to get up and wander round the house like some restless poltergeist, peering through the windows to the sleeping world outside.

It was then that the moon slid from behind the clouds. It was neither a full moon nor a crescent moon, it was a somewhere in-between moon, but looked like a welcoming moon to me, the insomniac below.

Nothing much moves outside these windows at 3am: a few taxis in the distance plying their trade, one or two late night student revellers, no doubt the odd rapist, perhaps a staggering drunk , and me, melting into the shadows of the building in my slippered feet and pyjamas, with my camera on a tripod.

Back to bed to finally snatch two hours sleep before realising I had overslept for my next tryst with the gym.
Oh to have given in to Morpheus and turned over, but resolve won, and I struggled out to do my duty on the exercise machines : a fortnight of holiday eating and relative lethargy has taken its toll on the body beautiful.

I feel good now, but I bet I sleep like a baby tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.