Sailfish

By sailfish

Eye, eye

Eyes are amazing aren't they? You don't appreciate them fully until something goes amiss, and I rarely look at mine close up. Fortunately I haven't had anything like the problems Clickychick had last week, just a slow realisation that I can't read so well in low light, when the print is very small, or too close up! That'd be the start of the slippery slope I guess.

I went for an eye test today, booked a week or more ago. It was no surprise that I need glasses for reading. In my work I'm constantly changing focus from close work to distance, so reading glasses are a bit of a bind. Varifocal lenses don't appeal since my distance vision is perfect - hurrah!. So they suggested I try a single contact lens. In 70% of people the brain is perfectly capable of working with one eye attuned to distance, and the other to close work. In that group the contact lens for close work is used in the weaker eye, the stronger eye does the distance stuff and the brain mediates between the two - how clever are we!!

This is my first ever time wearing a contact lens - a weird feeling to say the least! It certainly works for reading, if things are at the right distance, and it seems to work for distance too - mid-range is a bit more interesting. My brain may well fill in the gaps at midrange, if I get to build up the time I can wear them.

It may all be academic since it took me about a million goes to get the thing in. Thank goodness I don't need one in each eye, I'd have to get up 2 hours earlier! I did get it out on the second attempt which pleased the rather bored chap who was teaching me :)

I've got two weeks to get used to it and decide if it stays or if it goes - watch this space . . . if you can see it clearly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.