Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

The Eyes Have It

I hadn't had my eyes examined for six years! It was time. Some things haven't changed much over the years (including my eyesight): they still use the standard eye charts, the machines for determining vision look the same, ("Is one or two better?" I'm afraid if I give the wrong answer my glasses will be all wrong), they still dilate your eyes, which means most of the photos I took afterward look wonky.

Now I can't wait to get my new glasses! I'm so glad they're making eyewear fun now, but there are so many options, it's hard to choose. My friend Karen and I managed to have a lot of fun trying on frames and entertaining the staff with our antics. One of them made Karen's day when she asked if I was her mother; sigh.

I'm beginning to feel compulsive about taking my camera everywhere, and then having to explain myself to the receptionist or the waitress or the clerk why I want to take photos. I'm sure they wonder what's so photo-worthy about an eye examination thingummy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.