Valentines's Day

Bee and I went to see the Lucian Freud exhibition at the National Portrait Gallery today. I love visiting galleries with my artist daughter. She is so passionate about art. It was a joy to hear her discussing technique and lighting. Watching her do her little observation dance. She takes two long steps back and takes in the painting as a whole. A shuffle sideways to look at different sections and then the fingers go in her mouth as she gets in real close to study the detail. She has been doing that for as long as I can remember.

I haven't always been a fan of Lucian's work I used to think it a bit raw and visceral but recently I have had a change of heart. Particularly his large canvases that include background and detail. His hands and feet are remarkable. I realised that I was studying the feet quit closely. I have always had a thing for feet.

There seemed to be quite a few frenimies at the viewing. I overheard one elderly couple discussing a dinner party he hosted, 'well he did have a rare intellect' said the husband. 'still didn't stop him from being a prick' said the wife. Or another couple talking about his 'perverse nature and that weekend in the south of France.' Really added a little something extra to the experience.

I know a lot of people find Valentine's Day a commercial nightmare but I love it. I have always been the pragmatic type married to a serious romantic. In the early days I found it all a bit OTT but these days I adore a reason to celebrate our love. It's too easy to slip into routine. Tonight I have promised to get very drunk but I wonder if I can keep to it. I have such a nasty head cold and I want to wear serious heals (which don't work so well when you can't keep your balance). Dinner is all top secret. All I know is I need to dress up (as if I needed reminding, pffft) and a car is arriving at 7:15 to whisk me away. Maybe I should have thought to buy him a present.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.