From behind the lens...

Now I know why I've never tried to do a self-portrait before! Having sorted out how to set up the self-timer, I then had to work out how to focus the camera and get myself in the right place. You wouldn't believe how many photos I've taken of half a head, and even in this one I cut the top of my hair off (... but that could have been intentional!)

Then there was the difficulty of making a natural looking expression to an inanimate object - I'm not sure I really got the hang of that. But choosing the best of a bad bunch had Alex and I in stitches! And I was variously described as looking sly, gormless and away with the fairies!

Then came the processing decisions... Black and white or colour? Smooth out the wrinkles or go for gritty realism? I decided to stick with crow's feet laughter lines and the odd grey hair. I have to say I still prefer to be behind the lens stalking wildlife - much less time consuming!

Amazingly this is my 500th blip. I'm not sure how I've carried on for this long - I'm the sort of person who's never managed to keep a diary for more than a month, and when I started my target was to blip for 30 days. But I think the real reason I'm still here is all of you out there, who take the time to drop by and leave such kind and considerate comments. And have such stimulating journals that I continue to be fascinated by.

I shall be carrying on with blip, because I don't want to lose all the friends I've made, but there will have to be a slight adjustment in the blip/life balance, which might mean the occasional gap, or periods of limited interaction. I hope you'll all bear with me if this has to be.

Sarah. x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.