Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

"The Messenger"

I crossed over the pond and my preparations and travel offered such boring scenes that I did not take a single picture during the whole day. This one is from the few hours I spent in and around Paddington Station, waiting for my train to Wales.

"The Messenger" (1993) by Allan Sly stands outside an entrance to one of the buildings at St. Mary's Hospital, which commisioned it. I was looking for a walk along Paddington Basin, which is along the Grand Union Canal. The canal and this sculpture are things I did not know existed, although I've been to the vicinity many times. The cyclist getting a pebble out of his sho reminds me of the awful discomfort I experienced on the crowded flight.

It's great to be back in the UK!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.