Scotty, I need MORE POWER!

Aye, Captain. I'll do what I can but the dilithium crystals canna give much more!

Alas, this is not the U.S.S. Enterprise and Scotty doesn't work here but we have some kind of equivalent at York University. This is our campus power plant. I'm not sure how it is powered but it supplies electricity and heat (via steam pipes) to our very large campus (largest in Canada by area). I had to visit the building next door where facilities and such are located to pick out a new office chair which provides better back and neck support. My current chair is crap. This building looks kind of weird and I thought it would make an interesting blip. The building reminds me of something out of some 1970s post-apocalypse movie.

I walked past Scotty at a convention once. I regret not saying hello or shaking his hand. He's gone now so that opportunity is lost. I did meet Chekov once and got his autograph and I talked to Captain Kirk on the phone for a few minutes back in 1979. There was a telethon on TV and he was answering phones. Somebody else answered and I said I wanted to talk to him. They hesitated but I pledged $20 (hey, I was 15 then) so they put him on and we had a nice chat for 2 or 3 minutes about a month or so before the first Star Trek movie came out. He still owes me lunch! Come on, William Shatner! Pay up!

I didn't post a blip for yesterday until today so please take a look at my back blip. It's rather alien. Mars, specifically.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.