Arvin

Today we got up early to be picked up by our friend Jacqui and taken to the train station in Fairhaven for a trip to Seattle. A group of 19 of us were heading to the Seattle Art Museum to see the Gauguin exhibit. Here is Arvin sitting next to me on the train as we speed down to Seattle. (Check out the large version.) My teacher Trish Harding was leading the group. We've been talking about Gauguin for months and many of the painters participated in a show with paintings inspired by Gauguin's work. I didn't do that because I just couldn't fit it into my busy schedule this time.

We had a great day, starting with a walk from the train station to SAM where we ate lunch at their wonderful restaurant called "Taste." Next we went through the exhibit. We had tickets for 1:00. I really enjoyed the paintings and artifacts of Polynesian art that were part of the show. One of my favorite displays was the woodcuts Gauguin had done for a book that never was published.

After the show Arvin and I teamed up with Jacqui and another good friend Vikki to walk to the Pike Place Market for coffee and then go to a wonderful gallery across from SAM where there was glass and ceramic work on display. We returned to the market to have some pizza for an early dinner before catching the train back to Bellingham. It was a great day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.