The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Nest Box Time

Not the blip I actually intended today, but for the first time I forgot to take a photo!

I have been out at the University of Glamorgan at field craft talk by the wildlife photographer, Andy Rouse. I met Andy Rouse for the first time at an exhibition back in October, at the Washington Gallery, Penarth. Fair play to the guy he can tell a fantastic tale, and the whole lecture was done in a very easy to learn way and with a lot of Andy's own brand of humour. I have certainly picked a few tips up for the garden birds that I would like to put into practice over the coming months.

The trouble is I got so engrossed I forgot to get an iPhone picture to do as my blip!

So instead you get a blip nag!

The time has come to clean out those nest boxes, or put some up if you are lucky enough to have a garden big enough and with enough birds in it, to warrant it. Even if you haven't give it a go, you may get lucky.

I won this robin nest box from the people at Natures Feast this week, dead chuffed with it. Hopefully tomorrow I can find a suitable site for it and I can get up somewhere.

If you need some information, look no further than these RSPB pages. I am hoping the Blue Tits have another go at my next box I put up last year, they showed interest, but then chose not to use it. If anything does use either of these boxes, I assure you, you will be reading about it here!

PS ... The Bullfinch was not included! ;o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.