LeeAnne

By LeeAnne

Hen night...

This is my friend Paul. I wrote about him here if you want to know more about him. He's awesome!

True to form he pitched up tonight at Debra's hen night... twenty odd girls and him. Our conversation goes through ALL of the things that girls normally talk about on girls' nights. He just joins in... tonight we asked if he was uncomfortable yet... he just laughed and said 'oh that happened about an hour ago!'

Le Monde isn't really my cupola (this has been my word of the week... it came up as an autocorrect in a text on my iPhone... Filthytwitcher tells me I have two! I think that's a cupula but apparently it's same/same!) Full of people who are wearing too little in the clothing department regardless of age or indeed gender! and expensive drinks... £13.90 for two glasses of wine!! WHAT??! It's clearly a long time since I've spent any time or money going out in George Street! Nevertheless, as always we had a top night, great company and a really good giggle. We've all known each other about 10 years, after I temped at a legal firm way back when... I covered a maternity leave for a girl who is now one of my best mates. As a group we meet up a few times a year and still have as much fun as we did when I first met them all.

I left when it got to nightclub time those days are LONG gone and Clare and I managed to mother Paul when he said he was going to wheel home, to Slateford!!! Erm... no you're not!! We're going to walk with you till you find a taxi! Which is exactly what we did. The boy has fought a war and we're putting him in a taxi like he's 12 so he gets home safe!! He puts up with us though bless him, mostly cause he doesn't get much choice but it's also cause he's super awesome!!

So I'm home now and thinking about taking myself to bed. Cause I'm old mostly. I spent a lot of time tonight feeling like I'm about 90! In my head I'm no older than 20 but I look at the girls 20 years my junior and wonder if I looked quite so ridiculous on a night out in town! Orange skin, heels that are beyond ridiculous, skirts that barely cover an arse and make-up that's caked on an inch thick. Now I know that I never ever went out looking like that but I wonder if it's just times that have changed and I'm turning into some disapproving old bird who has to hide the horror that must be obvious on my face! Blimey I'm old!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.