Getting Cold And Wet

When I blearily looked at my emails at 8am I found one from Chippy saying it was snowing and did I want to go out. I always go out on Sunday morning but going out in snow with him driving his FWD appealed much more than me driving mine.

We reached the end of the road at Murton on the east fellside and made our way up the track. This involved crossing a stream.Getting to this point we soon realised it just wouldn't get any better for hours or maybe months.

Snap,snap, snap and we turned back. Now the stream that had been crossable by my standing on a slimy rock and leaping for the bank meant that, in reverse, I would have to stand on the bank and leap onto a slimy, sharp, wobbly rock. No other way over for me but to wade through the stream and wait for that moment when the icy cold water flowed over the top of my new waterproof boot!

Arrrgh! Good job Chippy had the flasks of tea waiting in the car.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.