Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

DERBY DAY ........ HONOURS EVEN

Sorry but it's all about the football today. Local derby match between Newcastle United and Sunderland.

Neil phoned me at around 8am - think it was 7pm in Australia. He was off to a friends house to settle down and watch the match. Its the first time for years that he hasn't actually gone to the match.

I was on the bus at 10.07am - off to town. Kick off 12 noon.


THE TELEGRAPH ------- Newcastle United versus Sunderland. Feisty, aggressive, scrappy, hot-blooded and hugely entertaining. There was bad feeling on the pitch and in the dugouts, where the two managers went nose to nose, but in the end there was nothing to separate these two bitter rivals

Things I didn't like about derby day

# The RAIN. It rained - and it was cold.

# Missing the action. The crowd were passionate and very supportive of the team. However too much standing up for me - missed a lot of the action due to those around me - including a very large chap in front of me - who stood up at crucial times. ( I only realised Sunderland's goal was a penalty after I saw it on the TV highlights on the local news at home. ) However I understand that it can't be helped - this is what happens. There was a lot of swearing too but I wasn't too bothered about that - its part and parcel of a football crowd - even though the Stewards did tell a few people to mind their language. The chap next to me would swear his head off then turn to me and apologise!.

# Newcastle's inability to get the ball in the net until injury time - even against 10 men

# Sunderland scoring a goal.

# Newcastle missing a penalty.


Things I did like about derby day


# We didn't get beaten by Sunderland at our home ground.

# Shola Ameobi scored a goal.

The 2 positives outweigh the negatives.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.