Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Bloody Oranges

I mean blood oranges.

In the of division of responsibilities chez nous, the task of peeling citrus fruit was allocated to me. Since we have not been eating as much fruit as we should have recently, I decided to make a fruit salad this evening, and started with the blood orange. The colors were so vivid that I couldn't resist blipping it on the cutting board.

Cynthia thought the fruit would look better on a plate or in a bowl, so I peeled a Minneola*, and another citrus fruit -- I can't remember its name**. I carefully arranged all three on a white plate with a blue cloth background***. So much for my resolve to cut back on blip time! Although the arrangement was more pleasing, the fruit didn't look as appealingly juicy. I don't know if it was because the lighting angle was different, or if the fruit had started getting dry.

I posted the arty photo on Flickr, in case you're interested.


* Minneola is also the name of a village in New York state and a city in Texas.

** When I was a young boy in Wales we only had oranges, grapefruit and tangerines (and lemons). The variety of citrus fruits nowadays is bewildering.

*** Much used by C for her still life blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.