The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

F Is For ... Father

This is my dad!

It's a bit of a strange one having a famous dad.

Loads of you that read this blog may have heard him on the Jeremy Vine Show on Radio 2.

Some of you who do listen to him may wonder how he ended up on Radio 2. Well, I'm afraid I am to blame for that! When Jeremy took over the lunch time show he decided he wanted to adopt an allotment, after a feature they run was hugely popular. I told him to apply, as he can gab for Wales .. those of you who know me, probably think I have inherited this gift!

He appeared on the show on the 4th July 2003, and the whole of America celebrated!*

He's never really looked back since. All sorts of blogs, books, TV appearances and regular spots on the Jamie & Louise Show on Radio Wales have followed. I clearly also inherited my blog writting skills from him too!

It is still most strange when people come up to him and say "are you Terry Walton, I recognise your voice?", so I thought I would put a face to that radio voice for you. I do this for that woman who came up to him at a poolside in Madeira a couple of years back. She asked that very question, to which my dad replied, yes I am indeed. Oh, she said, I was expecting a wizned old man .... (we almost fell off our sun loungers) ... for the one time in his life, my dad was lost for words!

I may get to share him with Jeremy Vine and his millions of listeners once a fortnight, and people may think of him as a gardening guru and ask questions about carrot root fly, bolting parsnips and the magic of manure, but he's just my dad to me, always has been. He's always been there, we share some great times together over a beer, and to be honest, I wouldn't change him for the world!

* -- This is what he told me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.