Fi's Foibles

By purpleicious

Dobro

Hubby said: "Why don't you blip one of my guitars?"
Well, he's got enough of them that I could blip a different one every day for a fortnight or more, but shiny things invariably defeat me in the photographic department: he's always very complimentary about my efforts, but I can almost see him thinking: "But that doesn't look anything like my beloved Fender/Gibson/whatever that I've spent hours polishing & fettling ?.." In fact, he spends more time on polishing & fettling than he ever does on playing the things: they mostly arrive as wrecks from tips, skips, or charity shops, & the main appeal seems to lie in restoring them to their former glory, & then to admire his growing collection.
And who am I to argue with that? As I've been reminded on more than one occasion (usually when I've just tripped over one of them & am loudly cursing), at least it keeps him off the streets ;-)

Anyway, this is apparently a 'Dobro something-or-other', donated to him in a sorry state by a cousin who no longer played it. Hubby was delighted to see me pointing my camera at it, & I hadn't the heart to tell him that it wasn't the gleam of the chrome (which is a lot shinier in real life) nor the rich patina of the wood that had drawn me to it, but purely the fact that it reminded me of a smiley face.

Upper limbs have behaved themselves today, just waiting for the rest of me to catch up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.