Comparative pancake studies

My last blip of this epic trip expresses my homage to Balkan food, especially, but not only, pancakes, of which quite a few have been eaten, some of enormous proportions, on this trip. We've done comparative pancake studies, with a sideline in comparative espresso studies, and an in depth exploration of the glories of Balkan meat (with a focus on both quantity and quality). Not forgetting šopska salad (pronounced Shopska). What the airport version gets wrong, however, is that it fails to respect the principle that the quintessential charm of Balkan food lies in its non mass produced individual character.

The undoubted effects of too much eating and drinking, and too little exercise, for nearly two weeks might even get me in the swimming pool, if I can snatch an hour, this coming week.

Waiting in Heathrow. Just pointed out to someone in Pret a Manger who didn't give me any change for my tenner, blindly asserting that I'd paid by card, that both she and the customers would find it easier to concentrate (and they'd be able to hear each other speak) if they turned the bloody music down (or preferably off).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.