There was a time...

...when Sunday nights meant ice hockey. In fact there were three different eras when I went to watch ice hockey regularly on Sunday nights. The first was when I was a student in Durham in the early 1980s and we went to the Riverside rink to see the Durham Wasps in action. More often than not I seemed to be on the 'away side' of the rink, cheering on the visiting Scottish teams, including the successful Dundee Rockets team of the time. Although I did travel across London to see a game or two at Streatham during my year at the LSE it was only after I moved to Edinburgh to start work at S&N that I really rediscovered the joys of regular Sunday night ice hockey. This time supporting the Murrayfield Racers at the Riversdale Crescent rink. Stovies and chocolate milk from the cafe under the away seats. Generally the crowds were smaller than those in durham, except when the Fife Flyers came to play. Then the place was packed, with almost 4,000 people. I know a least once we sat on the stairs. And there were trips to Kirkcaldy for the Scottish Cup and down to Wembley for the end-of-season playoffs (four times - only one win). After the demise of the Racers, I drifted away from ice hockey, but started going again when a new team started up in Dundee at the new Ice Arena and for a while we travelled up the motorway to watch them play. I see now, from the ticket stubs, that that was over ten years ago!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.