To See New Englandly

By distractedhausfrau

Do You See What I See?

The other night as I was coming out of our town hall, the moon looked huge and bright, even though it isn't full yet. A gentleman said, "Isn't it beautiful?" and I agreed.

He then asked me if I'd ever heard about the "Lady in the Moon." I told him I hadn't.

He said, "Well, you know how you can see the man in the moon? Well you can also see a lady in the moon."

I said, "Well, to be honest, I've never been able to see a man's face in the moon."

"Sorry?"

"I see a rabbit."

"Well, you can see a lady," and he went on to explain that where the man's eyes were I could see her hair, or some such thing.

I tried to say it again. "I've never been able to see a man in the moon. It looks like a rabbit to me."

He was determined to show me the lady in the moon. "Look, you can see it. If you just looked at...." and he went on.

I just kind of muttered, "Sorry. I can only see a rabbit."

He finally gave up on me and politely said, "Good evening" as he climbed into his car.

My daughter was with me and had been quiet the whole time, taking in the conversation. She quietly said, "It's okay, Mom. I see the rabbit. The Chinese see a rabbit in the moon, too, and the Chinese have been around for a long time."

She's an old soul, that one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.