Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

F is for F! Or is that V?

F is for F! Or is it V?

Now I'm not a Welsh speaker, I can read it and speak a little bit but not fluent enough in it. It's the one regret I have from comprehensive school when you get to make your choices. I was good at Welsh and should have kept it on if I had any sense, but hey ho hopefully I can rectify that over the coming years.

Today's blip was inspired a little bit by the traffic report I heard coming home on Friday night. There was an incident in Blaenavon (in Welsh its Blaenafon) and the traffic announcer pronounced it as Blaen and the last bit as you pronounce the river Avon, which is wrong. You see in Welsh a single F is mostly pronounced as a V, whilst a FF is pronounced as an F. Confused you will be!

I think it's important to keep the Welsh language alive, after all its part of who we are just as much as passion, singing and rugby. So today I'm thankful for those people keeping the Welsh language alive, and I hope to join you one day.

This Alphabet Challenge Blip was brought to you today by AlphaPonty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.